How is my degree classified – your questions answered

by


Around this time each year we are regularly asked about what is required to achieve a degree and what grades are required to achieve say an upper second class (2:1) degree. There is a link to all this information (FAQ) in the Assessments>Award Details container on your SOLE pages.

What do I need to be awarded a degree?
To be awarded an honours degree you will need to meet the following requirements:
To pass a total of 360 credits (this will often include the need to pass the 30 credits Level 6 Independent Study module)

Most students achieve this total credit requirement by passing 120 credits at levels 4, 5 and 6 but the rules for some courses permit some flexibility but all courses require students to:

To pass at least 120 credits at level 4 and
To pass at least 120 credits at level 6

The full flexibility is described in the Undergraduate Regulatory Framework.

How is my degree classification calculated?
Using 15 credit modules, the Honours degree classification will be calculated two ways, and the Board of Examiners will confirm whichever of the two methods results in the higher classification. For the majority of students the classification will be the same using both methods.

Method 1: classification is determined on the profile of the best three grades (45 credits) achieved at Level 5 and the best 8 grades (120 credits) at Level 6:

Method 2: classification is determined on the profile of the best 8 grades (120 credits) at Level 6:

When a result is for a 30 credit module rather than 15 credits, the grade achieved will be used twice e.g. a grade B in MOD3001 which is a 30 credit module will count as two B grades in the calculation.

Students who are following a top-up (Level 6) course having previously studied a HND or Foundation Degree will only have results at Level 6, therefore only Method 2 will be used to calculate the classification.  The modules from a separate course will not be used.

Reading through the comments below, you will see lots of questions and answers which provide lots of examples as to how the calculations are made.

The rules are defined formally in the Undergraduate Regulatory Framework.

127 Responses to “How is my degree classified – your questions answered”

  1. Daniel kent Says:

    The link in the award details section on sole shows nothing. It is an empty page and has been all through the last three years of checking that button. Just thought i’d let you know. :D

    • Registry Services (Pick1) Says:

      Thanks, the “Award Details” link will only show an award once one has been agreed by the Board of Examiners, it should show the same notice that you see when you click the “letter” link. I will see if we can get that revised.

      • Joshua Wainwright Says:

        I achieved B,B,B,B,B,C,C,C in my second year. And can defiantly Achieve a further B,B,B,B,B,B in my third year. However the last two grades within my 3rd year are reliant on my independent study and I am unsure of how good my grade will be. With the grades cited above is it possible to achieve a 2:1 even if achieve a D in my Independent study ?

  2. Greg Thomas Says:

    For Method 1 and to gain a 2:1, I’m right in thinking you need 6 B’s and 2 C’s yes? This can be done from bringing the best 3 grades from Level 5 and best 5 grades from level 6. Is this correct?

  3. Ashley Neale Says:

    Am I right in thinking +/- doesn’t matter. So an A- still comes under an A grade and B- a B grade. So on and so forth.

  4. Paul Dolby Says:

    Is only the ‘grade’ taken into account, rather than the ‘mark’ (/20).
    For example if i achieved ‘A A A B+ B+ B+ B+ B+’ would that count as a first due to the mark being as high or higher that someone who achieves ‘A A A A B B C C’?
    Thanks…

    • Registry Services (Pick1) Says:

      Yes only the grade is used in the classification process. The grade points are only used to calculate overall module grades when there is more than one assessment item.

      From your examples the the best six module results are used (method 2). The first set of results would result in a 2:1 the second would achieve a 1st class honours degree.

  5. Jen Says:

    I’m in third year and so far I have A, A-, A-, A-, A- (two of these are taken from level 5). Am i right in thinking that if I get B’s in the rest of my modules i would receive a first?

  6. leanne Says:

    Is the degree made up from 8 grades all together? For example 3 from 2nd year and 5 from 3rd year? Or is it 8 from third year?

    • Registry Services (Pick1) Says:

      It depends on which method is used, but using method one, 8 modules from level six and the best three from Level 5 are reviewed. The best eight then used to work out the classification.

      Using method two, the best six of the eight are used.

      The tables above should make this clear.

  7. Sarah Says:

    So to get a 2:2 you need to get 6 Cs and that can be three C’s from second year and three C’s from third year or 4 Cs from third year?

  8. Jodie Says:

    I have 135 credits at level 4, 105 at level 5 and 90 at level 6. Do I qualify for a degree without honors. I was given the option to graduate without honors by the Registry Services previously.

    • Registry Services (Pick1) Says:

      On the basis that you have achieved all this credit with the University then yes, you would be eligible for a non honours award.

      We would however advise that you think very carefully before taking this option. Employers generally will favour a candidate with an honours degree over one without and you are so close to completing the course you may regret not doing so in the future.

  9. Abbie Says:

    I currently have an A-, B+, B+ and B for my semester 1 third year results, if I then get at least 3 A’s in my semester 2 results, using method 2 does this mean I would get a 1:1?

    • Registry Services (Pick1) Says:

      It isn’t possible to reply individually to every request like this and it is the reason why we are sharing this advice so that students are able to work out the answer themselves.

      Using method 2, if you have 4 A grades and 2 B grades, a student would be awarded a 1st class honours degree.

  10. Steve Says:

    Can results from level 5 still be used for your final grade if you progressed to the University after completeing a Foundation Degree at Worcester Tech?

    I always assumed this wasn’t possible, but after reading this I’m not so sure!!

  11. Matt Says:

    Hi, can my dissertation count towards my final grades, and would it just count the same as two 15 credit modules? Thanks

    • Matt Says:

      Also, if i achieve an A grade, does that allow one more grade to be a C rather than a B when aiming for a 2:1?

      Example, using method 1; will a 2:1 be awarded for the grades ABBBBCCC or not?

      Thanks registry dudes!

    • Registry Services (Pick1) Says:

      Yes, a 30 credit independent study module will be used in the classification process. A 30 credit module grade is used twice. If you get an A grade in a 30 credit module it is the same as getting a two A grades in two 15 credit modules.

  12. Amy Says:

    Dear registry,
    I’ve had a look at the post grad framework for the classification of awards for a taught msc. please can you post an example of the two methods as I am struggling to make sense of it. Thanks.

  13. Nic Says:

    Throughout University lectures have told my entire course that the points system out of /20 is a method of calculating your degree classification.
    Is this not the case now, or have the entire course been told the wrong information, misleading us unfairly? Thanks

    • Registry Services (Pick1) Says:

      These methods of calculating degree classifications have been in place at the University since 2003. They are not new. I think you are confusing the grade point for marking work with the degree classification method.

      You might want to talk to you academic tutor or course leader.

  14. Guy Says:

    When are/will these changes implemented? This educational year or next? I only ask because I am currently in my finial semester of my finial year and this does effect, for the worst, my degree classification. These concerns follow the feelings of ‘Nic’ above.

    • Registry Services (Pick1) Says:

      These methods of calculating degree classifications have been in place at the University since 2003. They are not new.

      • Guy Says:

        This is a worrying discovery then, the teachings given to our year and possibly the past years have been wrong. I feel it wise to ensure lectures are passing on correct information to students.

  15. Mark Says:

    Using method 1 where degree classification is worked out on the best 45 credits at level 5 and best 120 credits at level 6, does this mean that all grades at level 6 are used? (as 120 credits is the total amount that can be achieved in the final year). For example, by breaking down grades achieved into 15 credit modules; I’ve achieved 6 A grades and 2 B grades (at level 5). At level 6 I’ve so far gained 2 A grades and a C grade. I have just started semester 2 of my final year, meaning that I have 75 credits left in which to achieve grades. Does using method 1 mean that the C grade achieved would need to be included, or can it be excluded somehow when working out the degree classification?

    Thanks

    • Registry Services (Pick1) Says:

      Method 1 will use three A grades results achieved at level 5. You need 3 more A grades and 2 B grades at Level 6 to achieve a first class honours degree.

      • Mark Says:

        thanks for your reply. So is this worked on the basis of 15 credits, as some modules are double worth 30 credits. I understand that a grade received in a 30 credit module will be used twice. So at level 6 I’ve currently received, 2 A grades and 1 C grade (grades for a double and single module). This means I have a further 5 grades to achieve (two double modules and a single module). Therefore, at level 6, I need one more A grade, two B grades and the remaining 3 grades would be discounted if they are lower than a B grade?

      • Registry Services (Pick1) Says:

        Yes, a 30 credit module grade is used twice. If you get an A grade in a 30 credit module it is the same as getting a two A grades in two 15 credit modules.

        Yes, you would need one more A grade, two B grades to achieve a first class honours degree.

  16. Chelsie green Says:

    How does the2:1 work with nursing as we have placements as modules that are just pass not graded..what would I need to get ?
    Thanks

  17. Hayley Says:

    If I achieved x5 B grades and x3 c grades at level 5, am I right in thinking I need x3 B grades and x2 C grades at level 6 in order to get a 2:1 classification?
    I am assuming if I obtained a B grade for a 30 credit module for either level 5, or 6 thiswould be carried through as two grades? Many thanks

  18. Catherine Says:

    Hi, just wanted to ask how the nursing degree is classified.. I am a bit confused as we do 50/50 placements and theory.. Can you explain to me what grades you need to get a 2:1 or 2:2 please! Thank you

    • Registry Services (Pick1) Says:

      If modules are marked on a pass/fail basis then they don’t count towards the classification methods, therefore the numbers required are reduced. If you look at Appendix 1 of the URF (link above) you will see this in the tables produced.

      There is a revision currently taking place to reduce the numbers further.

  19. Tracey Says:

    Hi, I have achieved so far from year 2 ; A, A, A- at 45 credits.
    Year 3 so far A-,A-. Am I right in thinking that I need to get another A grade and two B’s and your dissertation grade can go towards my classification. So if I achieve an A or A- for it for dissertation this will count towards getting a 1st?

  20. Michelle Says:

    Hi, we have been told we have to use our dissertation marks towards our classifcation, even if they are not part of the best grades. Is this true or do we just have to pass this to gain honnors?

    • Registry Services (Pick1) Says:

      In most cases students have to pass an Independent Study module in order to be awarded a Honours Degree (if you have to take one, you have to pass it).

      As a 30 credit module the result can count twice but it has no more importance than any other module results. This has been the case since 2007 when the requirement to pass the Independent Study within a grade range was removed.

  21. Laurie Says:

    Hello,

    I was told at Firstpoint reception on Thursday that your best 5 grades at Level 5 are taken through and your best 3 grades at level 6? Reading the other posts this seems incorrect???

    So far I have five A grades at level 5, and one A grade and the rest B’s at level 6 (including my independent study).

    Slightly confused.

    • Registry Services (Pick1) Says:

      The information presented here reflects accurately University regulations. The best three 15 credit modules from Level 5 are used. It would be odd to use more of your second year results that your final year….

      I will alert firstpoint.

  22. Andrei Says:

    If I have 3 Bs and 3 Cs at level 6, using only level 6 grades, then where would that be counted towards? A 2:1 or 2:2?

  23. Rob Says:

    I have three B’s from level 5 and 3 B’s from first Semester of level 6. Does this mean I just need 2 C’s to ensure I come away with a 2:1?

  24. Jane Says:

    Hi,
    With the first method, can the three best grades (3xB) from L5 contribute to the 6 B’s you need to get to acheive a 2:1, its unclear which area these grades would be used towards the degree classification. Also I studied my worcester university foundation degree through a sister college, would method 1 still be applicable?

    • Registry Services (Pick1) Says:

      Only results from your current course will count towards your degree classification. If you are completing a top-up course only method 2 will be used to classify your degree.

      • Jane Says:

        Hi thanks for replying, I am intirgued as to where this info can be found, I have been given a copy of the handbook for the top up course for ed studies, it does not give this information there, and states the two methods to be used. Also I have just been onto the undergraduate reg framework, in there it states the two methods would be used even if student has attended partner college. I cant find the info where it states method 2 would be used for top up? Can you tell me where it is please.
        Thanks for helping

      • Registry Services (Pick1) Says:

        For a top up course you will only have results at Level 6, therefore the modules from a separate course will not be used. It does not state anywhere in the URF that “the two methods would be used even if student has attended partner college”. If a student was studying the entire degree at a partner organisation, then both methods would be used.

  25. Dafydd Says:

    I did a HND before coming to do my last year here. Would i be able to bring 3 modules over for my last year?

  26. IS Says:

    Just wondering if you could tell me what would happen it you’d fail the IS? Would it be possible to retake it like any other modules? Thanks.

  27. Aimee Says:

    Hi how would it work if you aim for a first but say get 5 A’s and 3 B’s instead of the recommended 6 A’s 2 B’s as in method one table?

    Would this still be a first or knock it down to a 2:1?

  28. Kevin Says:

    I have 3 b’s from level 5 and 2 c’s from level 6. If I was to gain one more c would that guarantee a 2:2?

  29. Anna Gossage Says:

    Both of the tables indicate that you need more of the higher grade to get a classification ie 6 A’s + 2 B’s to get a 1st. What happens if you get equal grades ie 4 A’s + 4 B’s? What do you come out with then?

    • Registry Services (Pick1) Says:

      The number of modules in the tables are a minimum, therefore, your example would result in a 2.1 as 6 As are required to get a 1st using method 1. The example provided has 6 modules of B or Higher and 2 modules of C or higher.

  30. Leya Says:

    Hi there, I am a little confused with all of this so, in level 5 my best 3 grades were B,B, C+ and this year so far I have a B+ and a B. What do I need to get now to get a 2:1 grade? And I have my dissertation too.

  31. Roz Says:

    Hi, I’ve been trying to find out how my joint degree (not major or minor) will be classified, any ideas? I have searched and searched for information to no avail.
    Thanks.

  32. Vicky Says:

    Does this second method also apply to those students who are now doing a top degree. I guess my question is can your results at level 5 from a foundation degree be used towards your classification?

  33. dawn Says:

    my modules are split and i have two results for them then that makes an overall grade. is it the overall grade that counts or the indivduel for assigment

  34. Suzanne Says:

    Hi I am on a 3 year initial teacher training course. Could you tell me please whether it is the best 8 grades over the final two years that count towards the degree classification? Or is it the top 3 grades from year 2 and all results from year 3? I have to say there are quite a few of us who are not sure about this so I ask on behalf of all final year students on this course. Thank you. Suzanne

  35. Nathan Says:

    Hi
    Would it be an idea to have some sort of classification calculator tool on SOLE that shows personalised grades required to get each classification? It would save a lot of questions and replies on here and elsewhere
    Cheers

  36. Tom Says:

    Just building on from Suzanne’s comment earlier on, On the PITE course is it 6B’s and 2 C’s for a 2:1 or 5B’s and 2 C’s? as there is alot of confusion on our course.

  37. flavien Says:

    Hi, so far i have 2 B’s and a C from my level 5 and a D and a C from my Level 6. what do i need to get a 2.2? Also, what if we fail some modules but still have enough crédits to meet the table’s criteria? do we need to retake them or we can still graduate without being sucessfull in some modules?

    • Registry Services (Pick1) Says:

      Your question is largely answered above:
      What do I need to be awarded a degree?
      To be awarded an honours degree you will need to meet the following requirements:
      To pass a total of 360 credits (this will often include the need to pass the 30 credits Level 6 Independent Study module)

      Most students achieve this total credit requirement by passing 120 credits at levels 4, 5 and 6 but the rules for some courses permit some flexibility but all courses require students to:

      To pass at least 120 credits at level 4 and
      To pass at least 120 credits at level 6

      To achieve a 2.2 the table above indicates either 6 or 4 grade Cs or higher depending on the method applied.

  38. James Says:

    If I have 2 B’s and a C from 2nd year and a B and a C from 3rd year, do I only need one more C for a 2:2? Just making sure I haven’t totally messed up uni.

  39. Zara Says:

    Is there any criteria that suggests that results from a second year research methods module cannot be counted because the independent study completed in third year is also research methods?

  40. Imran Ali Says:

    Hi,

    I’m coming to the end of my masters and can’t seem to find any information as to how my final grade will be calculated. You have briefly mentioned it about but I think I speak for the majority of people on my course when I say I’d like some more information. Our course handbook doesn’t contain this information and tutors on my course were not able to inform us.

    Thanks

  41. Lauren Says:

    Hi, I have one B and three C’s from level five and one B and two C’s so far from level 6′ so overall two B’s and 4 C’s, am I right in thinking this would equal a 2:2 using either method?

  42. Danielle Says:

    i’ve got 3 A- and 3 B- from level 6 so far, does that mean I have just a high 2.1?

  43. James Says:

    Hi, I’m a little confused. I have got an ABBBBBBBBCC includeing three from level 5 would result in me getting a 2:1? Thanks

  44. Emily Says:

    Hi, I have 3 A’s at level 5 and 3 A’s and 2 B’s at level 6 so far, Would this be a 2:1 or a First? Thanks.

  45. aimee dowse Says:

    Hi so far from level 5 (yr 2) i have three A grades a total of 45 credits this year at level 6 i have one A- grade at 30 credits as a double module does this mean i now need one more A to get a first as the double module makes this a total of 5 A’s so far if using method one ?

  46. Luke Says:

    I’m a little confused. I have just finished my second year at uni and the three best grades from this year would be three C’s. Can you tell me what I need from the third year to get a 2.2 please?

  47. Lisa Says:

    Hi,

    Does this system apply to every university?

    In which case, using method 2 I have already obtained 3 Bs and 2 Cs (other grades are not back yet). Would I be in the 2:2 bracket?

    Thanks in advance.
    Lisa

  48. DC Says:

    Hello! Using second-year marks so far i’ve got the following grades: A A B B B B D D. Will that result in a 2:1 or 2:2 ?

  49. Kaka Says:

    There’s nothing on this for Msc students. How can we know how we are graded?

  50. Leya Says:

    I have had all my results in so this year (year 3) I had got b’s and 2 c’s and last year (2nd year) I have 2 b’s and a c is that a 2:1?

  51. jark Says:

    Hi, I have 7Bs and 1 C in my second year. In my third year I have got A in my independent study and in two other modules. I also got 3 Bs and 1 C. Will this result in a first or 2.1?

  52. BRHN Says:

    Hi, I so far have 3 B’s at level 5 and 4 at level 6; but everything else is Cs. Will this be a 2.1 still?

  53. Danielle Says:

    Hi I have just finished the third year. I have 2 A’s and a B from the second year. So far I have 2 A’s, 4 B’s and a C in the third year. I am waiting on one more grade. Does this mean I am achieving a 2:1?

  54. Robyn Says:

    Hi I have just finished my third year and my grades that have come back are 4 B-’s, a B+, a D+ and for my independent study I have just gotten another B-, which counts for two grades. Does this mean I have gotten a 2:1?

    Thank you.

  55. Yvonne Says:

    Can you confirm the Nursing Student criteria for classification as 30 of the 120 credits each year come from clinical placement, which is un-graded and simply PASS/FAIL. This means we only obtain 4 academic grades in year 2 and again in year 3 (90 credits each year). So do i assume that the 8 grades needed to classify the degree come from all our results in years 2 and 3 (50/50 weighting across both years?) or is ours less? Many thanks

  56. Matt Says:

    Hi, I have just finished my top up degree in Applied Health Sciences. So using method 2. My grades are ABBBBD. What classification will this achieve?

  57. Natasha Says:

    Hey, I have just finished my third year. In my 2nd year I got 1 A, 2 Bs and 1 C. 3rd year I got 1 A, 3 Bs and 1 C. Does this mean I have a 2:1? Thanks.

  58. Guide to.. Degree classifications | Worcester Student Life Says:

    […] If you’re still a bit unsure about what you need to get to achieve the grade you’re aiming for them you can look at the University Registry blog on degree classification. […]

  59. Alex Powell Says:

    Hi, I have a slightly different question. At level 5 I decided to take a level 6 module in education studies (im a geography student) and got an A, I also achieved 3 A+s from geography to take up for my degree classification. Does this level 6 A grade I have achieved at level 5 count as a third year module, and therefore mean I actually have 4/6 As towards my degree rather than just three?

    Thanks a lot

  60. Jane Says:

    Hi, can I ask when we get our award confirmed, and our confirmation letter Thanks

  61. Trish Martin Says:

    Hi, I been studying for a Higher National Diploma. I have received my award, but it has not been classified. Is there a simple way to find out what my final grade was. Thank you

  62. Mel Says:

    Hi. I have just seen the provisional results for my last module for BAPP in Education a triple one which is counted for 3 grades. Disappointed as it was graded D. I already have achieved 2A-s and 2B-s. What level degree will I receive as cannot work it out? :/

  63. Mel Says:

    Oh…and it says that my best 6 grades are counted…so 2A-s,2B-s and 2Ds. Is that a 2:2 or 2:1?

  64. Mel Says:

    Me again! Miss counted as one module was a double. Amazed I made it through with this brain! the highest 6 out of 7 I have are – 2A-s, 3B-s and 1D. A 2:1 surely?

  65. Sara Says:

    Hi there, in my second year i acheieved C’s in every module. going into my final year what will I need to get a 2:1?

  66. Hayley Says:

    Hi there… Dos your dissertation grade have to be counted in the final 8/6 grades, or if you get better grades on other modules/essays would they take preference? Many thanks.

  67. John Boggild Says:

    Does the same criteria apply for a level 7 MBA part time evening course?

  68. Charlotte Says:

    I’m in my third year, and last year my top 3 grades were A-, B+, B+; does this mean I need 3 Bs this year or 4 to get a 2:1? (That’s using method 1)

  69. ed Says:

    Hey, how many A’s do I need to get a 1st degree using method 2?, is it 4 A’s and 2 B’s?

  70. Dave Says:

    I have finished my second year with 2 B+ and 1 C as my best three results and i am currently on a placement year – is it possible for me to get a 1st at level 6 with these being my top three grades from level 5?

    Thanks

  71. sue Says:

    Hi i have received my first three grades for my third year all ,A- at LEVEL SIX. In year two i got 5 B’s and 1 C: Level five and in year 1 i got 2 A-’s and 2 b’s: level four, from this how do i work out what my degree will be and what more i need to get to achieve a higher grade?

Comments are closed.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,188 other followers

